Social Studies‎ > ‎

04 Provincial Government

In Canada there are ten Provincial Governments and three Territorial Governments.  Each Province or Territory has its own capital city and is headed by a Lieutenant Governor (provinces) or a Commissioner (territories) on the advice of a Premier.  Canada is divided in this way to better deliver services that help us live our daily lives. How these provincial services are provided, managed and paid for will be discussed in this chapter.

Task 1: Review the video discussing the Three Levels of Government 

Task 2: View this slideshow .  

Pay attention to the slide, "Responsibilities of the Provincial Government."  

Task 3: Write a short essay discussing how you think the Province of Ontario looks after hospitals, education and welfare.  What are these services specifically; give a description.  How are they paid for?  Who decides how these services are managed and delivered to the people of each province?